Two appointed to Ontario Food Terminal board

The Ontario Food Terminal Board (OFTB) has a new vice chair and a new director effective August 31. Christy McMullen of Summerhill Market in Toronto is now serving as vice chair of the organization, and John Den Boer of Den Boer Family Farms near Tillsonburg has assumed a director position. Both have been appointed by the Ontario government to three-year terms.


McMullen worked as a chartered accountant in Canada and abroad before returning to the family business in the heart of old Toronto, which she co-manages with her brother. She’s past chair of the Canadian Federation of Independent Grocers and is a board member of the Vineland Research and Innovation Centre.


She takes over the vice chair role from Mark Pearlman, Chief Operating Officer CannAssist Group Inc. who first joined the OFTB in 2006. 


Den Boer grew up on a vegetable farm in the Netherlands and worked in the produce and grocery industries there before moving to Canada with his family in 1992. The family farm near Tillsonburg, now managed by his son and daughter-in-law, produces a wide range of vegetables that are primarily sold at the Terminal. He’s president of the Toronto Farmers’ Association and is currently a member of the OFTB COVID-19 Crisis Response Team.


Den Boer replaces outgoing board member Margaret Appleby, a part-time professor in the Food and Farming Program at Durham College and owner of Northumberland Hills Farm. 


Ken Knox remains chair of the board.  His term ends January 16, 2021.


Source:   Ontario Food Terminal Board August 31, 2020 news release

If latest news: 
Check if it is latest news (for "Latest News" page)
Publish date: 
Monday, August 31, 2020
Home page latest news order: 

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


DRC announces leadership changes

The Fruit and Vegetable Dispute Resolution Corporation has announced that Luc Mougeot will become the new president and CEO on January 1, 2021. He will replace the retiring Fred Webber, who has held the role since 2011. 

Mike Ecker, winner of CPMA Lifetime Achievement Award

The Canadian Produce Marketing Association is honouring Mike Ecker, president of Vineland Growers’ Co-operative, for his 45-year career in the produce industry. 

OPMA welcomes two new board members

The Ontario Produce Marketing Association has two new board directors:  Fiona McLean, Del Fresco Produce and Michael Wexler, the Oppenheimer Group. They will serve a three-year term.

Conservative shadow cabinet named

Lianne Rood, a southwestern Ontario MP, has been named the shadow minister for agriculture and agri-food. She has held that role since December 2019.  


New Ontario deputy minister of agriculture, food and rural affairs named

John Kelly, the former executive director of the Ontario Fruit & Vegetable Growers’ Association, becomes the new deputy minister of agriculture, food and rural affairs.