Parliament resumed December 5

Anthony Rota

The Canadian parliament resumed its business on December 5 with the election of Anthony Rota. As the Liberal MP for the Ontario riding of Nipissing-Timiskaming, he brings fluency in four languages: French, English, Spanish and Italian.


One of the key themes of the Throne Speech was a commitment to alleviating climate change through incentives for home and building retrofits, zero-emissions vehicles and clean technology companies.


Marie-Claude Bibeau, Liberal MP for the Quebec riding of Compton-Stanstead, took her seat in parliament as the minister of agriculture and agri-food.  She continues in the role that she was appointed to on March 1, 2019. 


John Barlow, Conservative MP for the Alberta riding of Foothills, takes on the role of shadow minister for agriculture. He has been on this file previously, and travelled the country widely on listening tours.  


Alistair MacGregor, New Democratic Party MP for the British Columbia riding of Cowichan-Malahat-Langford, has been named the shadow minister for agriculture. In the last parliamentary session, he lost a private members’ bill for an organic farming tax credit.


Yves Perron, Bloc Quebecois MP for the Quebec riding of Berthier-Maskinongé, is tasked as agriculture critic.

Publish date: 
Monday, December 9, 2019

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


2020 Atlantic Outstanding Young Farmers named

Katie and Phil Keddy are the winners of the 2020 Atlantic Outstanding Young Farmers competition. Besides growing strawberries at Lakeville, Nova Scotia, they are the largest growers of sweet potatoes east of Ontario. 

Cheers to ONHops Brewoff winners

VQH Farms, a perennial competitor, took first place this year with Great Lakes Brewery for the Imperial (double) IPA’ style of craft beer. The annual competition was hosted at the 2020 Ontario Fruit & Vegetable Convention. 

Bragging rights are in store for cider competition winners

Congrats to all apple growers in the 2020 Ontario Fruit & Vegetable Convention cider competition held February 19.  Winners were announced for sweet cider, specialty cider and common cider.

Ontario fruit and vegetable growers re-elect board chair

Grape grower Bill George Jr. will serve a second one-year term. He and his wife Lesliann grow 160 acres of wine grapes in the Niagara region.


Pinder Dhaliwal continues to lead BC Fruit Growers

Oliver cherry grower Pinder Dhaliwal will continue as president of the 400-member strong BC Fruit Growers’ Association.The annual general meeting was held February 11-12 in Kelowna.