Ontario fruit and vegetable growers re-elect board chair

Front row, L-R:  John Hambly, Alison Robertson, Bill George Jr., George Gilvesy, Ken Forth.  Back row, L-R: Kenny Forth, Brian Gilroy, Jan VanderHout, Norm Charbonneau, Charles Stevens, Shawn Brenn, Glen Gilvesy, Fred Meyers, Mike Chromczak.

Grape grower Bill George Jr. will serve a second one-year term as chair of the Ontario Fruit and Vegetable Growers’ Association (OFVGA). The horticultural sector has an annual farm gate value of more than $2.3 billion.


He first became chair in 2019 and was re-elected at the OFVGA annual general meeting in Niagara Falls on February 18.  Apple grower Charles Stevens from the Newcastle area was re-elected in the role of vice-chair. 


“I appreciate being able to serve Ontario’s fruit and vegetable growers for another year as chair of this organization,” says George. “These are turbulent times and it’s more important than ever that our sector has a strong voice to represent grower interests provincially and nationally.” 


Financial protection for growers in case of buyer non-payment, access to labour, and crop protection are priority issues for the organization in its current advocacy efforts.  


George and his wife Lesliann grow 160 acres of wine grapes in the Niagara region, as well as harvesting and processing ice wine juice on a farm that has been in the family since 1796. George also represents Ontario on the Canadian Horticultural Council and is a past chair of Grape Growers of Ontario. 


The board also welcomes John Hambly, Bradford, as the new director representing vegetable muck growers; he assumes the role from Jason Verkaik. 


OFVGA’s other board members include directors Jan VanderHout (greenhouse), Norm Charbonneau (small fruit/berries), Mike Chromczak (asparagus), George Gilvesy (greenhouse), Glen Gilvesy (ginseng), Kenny Forth (fresh vegetable – other), Fred Meyers (tender fruit), and Shawn Brenn (potatoes). Along with the chair and vice-chair, Charbonneau, Chromczak and Forth form the OFVGA’s management committee. 


Chromczak also chairs the safety nets section, VanderHout leads the environment and conservation section, and Stevens heads the crop protection section. Other section chairs include Ken Forth (labour) and Brian Gilroy (energy, property, infrastructure and food safety).


Source:  Ontario Fruit & Vegetable Growers’ Association February 19, 2020 news release.

If latest news: 
Check if it is latest news (for "Latest News" page)
Publish date: 
Thursday, February 20, 2020

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


United Fresh names best in show virtual exhibit booths

Canadians won two of the six booth awards at the United Fresh LIVE! show. Best Overall Booth was won by greenhouse grower Sunset/Mastronardi Produce Ltd., Kingsville, Ontario. Best FreshMKT Booth was won by Pure Flavor – Pure Hothouse Foods, Inc. Leamington, Ontario. 

Davis Yung champions initiative for frontline workers

Davis Yung, the new chair of the Canadian Produce Marketing Association (CPMA), has hit the ground running, spearheading a new initiative to deliver produce to frontline workers. 500 shopping bags, brimming with produce, recognize their thankless work throughout the pandemic thus far.

Davis Yung to chair 2020-21 CPMA board of directors

Just like the industry itself, Davis Yung brings a dynamic leadership style to the Canadian Produce Marketing Association. Its diverse membership is comprised of every segment of the produce industry supply chain which is responsible for 90 per cent of the fresh fruit and vegetable sales in Canada. 

Virtual New Product Showcase awards announced

The Virtual New Product Showcase honours four product categories: the organic product award, packaging innovation award, best snackable product and best new product award. The Little Potato Company’s Easy Sides won best new product. 

New chair for Ontario Farm Products Marketing Commission

Pork and chicken producer Amy Cronin has been appointed chair of the Ontario Farm Products Marketing Commission for a two-year term.