New Ontario deputy minister of agriculture, food and rural affairs named

Effective August 17, 2020, John Kelly will become Deputy Minister of the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs. 


The Cabinet Office cited him as an innovative, strategic and recognized senior executive in the agricultural and food sectors. His experience spans private (large global multi-national companies and start-ups), public and not-for-profit sectors. With a career spanning more than 25 years, he has held senior level roles in organizations such as DNAstack Inc., Ontario Fruit & Vegetable Growers’ Association and MaRS Landing.


Kelly is currently the Chief Innovation Officer with the Bioenterprise Corporation, where he is responsible for leading acceleration of agri-tech business ventures. He holds a Bachelor and Master of Science and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD). He brings extensive Board of Directors experience with start-ups, science-based organizations and multinational companies. 


In the interim, David Hagarty, assistant deputy minister of policy division, will act as deputy minister for one week starting August 10.  


Source:  The Cabinet Office of Ontario  August 6, 2020 announcement        


If latest news: 
Check if it is latest news (for "Latest News" page)
Publish date: 
Thursday, August 6, 2020

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


Mike Ecker, winner of CPMA Lifetime Achievement Award

The Canadian Produce Marketing Association is honouring Mike Ecker, president of Vineland Growers’ Co-operative, for his 45-year career in the produce industry. 

OPMA welcomes two new board members

The Ontario Produce Marketing Association has two new board directors:  Fiona McLean, Del Fresco Produce and Michael Wexler, the Oppenheimer Group. They will serve a three-year term.

Conservative shadow cabinet named

Lianne Rood, a southwestern Ontario MP, has been named the shadow minister for agriculture and agri-food. She has held that role since December 2019.  


Two appointed to Ontario Food Terminal board

The provincial government has announced three-year terms for two new appointees to the board. One is John Den Boer, a southwest Ontario grower who is president of the Toronto Farmers’ Association.

Canadian Agricultural Hall of Fame 2020 inductees named

Jay Bradshaw, former president of Syngenta Canada, is one of the four inductees. The ceremony will be delayed until November 2021.