Local Food Champion opens second farm market

From strawberries to melons to sweet corn, Howe Family Farms grows a range of produce. But mostly, they grow an intangible: customer loyalty.


That’s why they felt confident enough to extend their brand from the Aylmer, Ontario home location to a second market and country bakery near St. Thomas.


“There were a lot of stressful nights in the spring trying to finalize renovations on top of getting our crops in the ground, but the struggle was met with overwhelming support and appreciation from our community and customers,” says Kevin Howe. “We couldn't be happier with how this year turned out.”


The tradition and ambition of Howe Family Farms was recently recognized in the Local Food Champion 2019 award, a program that recognizes individuals, organizations and businesses that show leadership in bringing local food to local tables. The award was given by the local MPP.  


“I am proud that Elgin-Middlesex-London is home to an incredible group of farmers, food processors and entrepreneurs who work hard to showcase the products of our agricultural industry,” said MPP Jeff Yurek, Elgin-Middlesex-London. “By spotlighting our local food champions, we are recognizing how important their efforts are in championing our rural lifestyle and sharing it with the rest of the province.”

If latest news: 
Check if it is latest news (for "Latest News" page)
Publish date: 
Wednesday, December 11, 2019

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


DRC announces leadership changes

The Fruit and Vegetable Dispute Resolution Corporation has announced that Luc Mougeot will become the new president and CEO on January 1, 2021. He will replace the retiring Fred Webber, who has held the role since 2011. 

Mike Ecker, winner of CPMA Lifetime Achievement Award

The Canadian Produce Marketing Association is honouring Mike Ecker, president of Vineland Growers’ Co-operative, for his 45-year career in the produce industry. 

OPMA welcomes two new board members

The Ontario Produce Marketing Association has two new board directors:  Fiona McLean, Del Fresco Produce and Michael Wexler, the Oppenheimer Group. They will serve a three-year term.

Conservative shadow cabinet named

Lianne Rood, a southwestern Ontario MP, has been named the shadow minister for agriculture and agri-food. She has held that role since December 2019.  


Two appointed to Ontario Food Terminal board

The provincial government has announced three-year terms for two new appointees to the board. One is John Den Boer, a southwest Ontario grower who is president of the Toronto Farmers’ Association.