CHC announces award winners at virtual AGM

The Canadian Horticultural Council (CHC) held its 2021 annual general meeting virtually from March 16 to 17. The 2020 AGM theme was Horticulture Strong: Reflect. Adapt. Persevere. More than 170 delegates and observers logged on to discuss policy issues and to hear presentations from industry representatives. 


The 2021 board of directors will be chaired by newly elected president, Jan VanderHout (Ontario). Holding other leadership positions on the board will be first vice-president Marcus Janzen (British Columbia), second vice-president Albert Cramer (Prairies), and finance chair, Brian Gilroy, past president (Ontario). They will be joined on the board by Jason Smith (British Columbia), Beth Connery (Prairies), Mike Chromczak (Ontario), Bill George (Ontario), Jocelyn Gibouleau (Québec), Pascal Forest (Québec), Gerald Dykerman (Atlantic), and Russell Weir (Atlantic). 


The 2021 Doug Connery Award was presented to Jocelyn St-Denis. This award publicly recognizes a person who, in the course of their association with the Canadian Horticultural Council (CHC) and Canada’s horticulture sector, have made outstanding contributions to the improvement and advancement of the industry. Jocelyn St-Denis is the executive director of the Association des producteurs maraîchers du Québec (APMQ). He has served on the CHC Board of Directors since 2016 and has contributed valuable insights and industry knowledge, in addition to his dedication advocating on behalf of Canadian fruit and vegetable growers. 


Hector Delanghe was recognized as an Honourary Life Member of the Canadian Horticultural Council. Hector was instrumental in the development of many labour programs which growers continue to depend upon today, including the Seasonal Agriculture Workers Program (SAWP), CanAg Travel, and F.A.R.M.S. Hector is also a past president of CHC, having served in 1993. His work has left a lasting legacy on the sector. 


The Canadian Horticultural Council will hold its 100th annual general meeting in Ottawa on March 8-10, 2022. 


Source:  Canadian Horticultural Council March 19, 2021 news release


If latest news: 
Check if it is latest news (for "Latest News" page)
Publish date: 
Sunday, March 21, 2021

Click to leave a comment

For security purposes, please confirm you are not a robot!


Luci Faas is one of 10 Women in Produce nominees

After two years of research and pilots, Luci Faas was successful in identifying a home-compostable cucumber wrap for Nature Fresh Farms, Leamington, Ontario. The Canadian Produce Marketing Association is honouring her as one of 10 Women in Produce nominees. 

Minor use coordinator announced for Ontario

Joshua Mosiondz will be joining the Horticulture Technology unit of Ontario’s ag ministry, effective immediately. 


CPMA announces new board

The Canadian Produce Marketing Association announces its 2021 board of directors.  At the April 28th board meeting, Guy Milette of Courchesne Larose Ltée will assume the role as chair for 2021/2022.

Passion for Produce participants announced

The Canadian Produce Marketing Association has announced 20 participants for the Passion for Produce program to be delivered virtually around Fresh Week in April.  

DRC announces new vp operations

Kevin Smith, a veteran of the Canadian Food Inspection Agency, is joining the Dispute Resolution Corporation in Ottawa as vice-president, operations.